The Patagonian Expedition Race is an extreme expedition. The teams which participate cross land untouched by man. The contestants receive minimal help during the race and complete the route by trekking, climbing, kayaking and mountain biking. Navigating and constantly knowing the team’s position on the map is the real challenge. Teams often complete the course without any meeting any sign of human activity.

Each edition of the race has different route. The Patagonian Expedition Race 2016 will be held from 13 till 26 February 2016 in the southern Chilean part of Patagonia,the regional capital being Punta Arenas.

The competitors will follow strict rules. 4‐person teams will participate. The competitors will navigate without GPS systems, using only maps and compasses. A mutual group strategy it is the key to success.

This year the name of the route is The Last Wild Race.
The exact route and coordinates will stay secret until 24 hours before the start of the race.

Race director, Stiepan Pavicic, has revealed only that the route will run through the western part of southern Patagonia.

During this expedition, more important than the distance and difficult conditions, is the adventure and discovery of new places and wild countryside, as yet untouched by man. The fight with our own weaknesses is a real challenge.


Spirit Of Poland – Patagonian Expedition Race 2016



The first Patagonian Expedition Race was held in 2004. It was meant to be a one‐off event and nobody could have imagined that it would become an annual tradition. The first contestants had no idea what was in store for them. The race route covered 520 km and ran through one of the most unspoilt, pristine and remote corners of the world. It began in South America and finished at the most southerly point in the world. Teams from New Zealand, Denmark, the Czech Republic, Spain, the USA, Columbia, Argentina and Chile competed in the first race, in which the race route was very difficult and dangerous.


In 2006 the first and only winter edition of the Patagonian Expedition Race was held ‐ ‘The Adventure at the End of the World’. The expedition lasted 6 days and the contestants had the opportunity to find reath‐taking winter views of icy lakes, glaciers and mountains fully covered by snow. Low temperatures and cold winds created additional difficulties and challenges. The winter edition was a little different from the other editions; each day It presented a fresh challenge for the participants.

Over the next few editions new challenges and and routes were waiting for the teams. The 11 th edition in 2013 was the last race to be held. It started with night cycling and crossed through the most isolated regions, covering a distance of 701 km. Out of the 11 teams who started, only three finished the race

After a two year break, the Patagonian Expedition Race will return in 2016.
This edition will start a new cycle of discoveries and opportunities.


Patagonia (​former name Patagonica), a geographical region in the southern part of South America, is situated within Argentina and Chile. Located between the Atlantic and Pacific oceans and reaching up to Rio Negro river at North, the area stretches for 900 000 km², of which the eastern 670 000 km2 belongs to Argentina and the western part to Chile.

Many fiords and islands can be discovered in the west. The Andes mountain range (with its volcanic and glacial mountains) stretches through the entire region of Patagonia, encompassing mountains such as Monte San Valentin (4058 metres above sea level) and Fitz Roy (3370 metres above sea level), the Palena, Yelcho and Pascua rivers flowing to the Pacific Ocean, rocky mountains and deep canyons. To the east, the lake district is found to the side of the Andes, and further a plateau crossed by the Limay‐Negro, Chubut, Deseado and Chico rivers.

0 km2
Area of Patagonia (Chile, Argentyna)
0 m n.p.m.
Peak Monte San Valentin (Andy - Chile)
0 m n.p.m.
Peak Fitz Roy (Andy - Argentyna, Chile)


Palena 6km
Yelcho 40km
Pascua 62km
Limay-Negro 380km
Chubut 810km
Deseado 615km
Chico 175km

Ferdinand Magellan, who discovered the region, called the natives ‘Patagao’(or Patagon), and the land Patagonia. The name describes the giant people who were living there. Another theory tells that the name of the land comes from a wild animal, the patagon.

From 1878 – 1881 the Argentinian army, commanded by General Julio Argentino Roke, assigned the eastern part of the region to Argentina. The western part of the region was annexed to Chile by the Buenos Aires Treaty in 1881.